THE INTERN DIARIES: A DAY IN THE LIFE

Let me begin by saying it really is as good as it seems… IF you are an optimist.

 

JOVANI is one of the most exciting places to work. Each day, every department has new projects that must be completed. And for an eager eighteen-year-old, these projects are like shiny new toys begging to be tinkered with. My day is often hectic, and filled with multi-tasking minutes, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. My schedule normally goes a little something like this:

courtesy of google.com

courtesy of google.com

7:30 am: I wake up early to fit in some kind of exercise before I start my day. Most mornings I run, but there is the occasional yoga or pilates class. Doing something active in the mornings helps me to feel a sense of accomplishment for the rest of the day. Sounds silly, but when you live in a city like New York, feeling like you accomplished something (like running a few miles) before your first cup of coffee puts you ahead of the game.

9:00 am: I am back to my apartment and showered. I’ll usually have a cup of coffee and put on some music while I put together an ensemble for the day. Normally, it consists of a summer dress, colorful, chunky jewelry and a low(ish) heels. Normally, I’m all about the height, but running around the city is 100x more comfortable in a three-inch wedge– A tip for all the interns out there: stylish heels that are comfortable DO exist. You just have to hunt for them!

9:30am: I’m out the door to catch the Subway. My commute is about 15 minutes (I have to be at JOVANI by 10am) but I always try to get there a little early. It’s the little things, like arriving early, that can make or break an intern.

 

9:50am: I walk into the office (smiling) and greet everyone with a good morning, (by this point the coffee has kicked in). I settle into my desk, check my e-mails and begin listening to the head designer, Julie DuRocher.

10:30am: By now I have shuffled a few gowns around, gave my opinion about some new samples and am ready to settle into our first fabric meeting of the day. Merchants come to display their fabrics and we chose the ones  that can be crafted into gowns that will best represent our brand and the current trends. (More about that in the fabrics blog report here.)

11:45am: The head designer heads off to a meeting with the sales department and some customers. While she is gone my task is to do trend research online. I search for anything “special” that will help to inspire her designs. The images I find are often from other fashion blogs and recaps of red carpet events, and it’s amazing how an embellishment or a shoe can suddenly turn into a designer dress!

1:00pm: Lunchtime! Yes… people in the fashion industry do eat. Can we move on now?

1:30pm: The head designer takes her assistant Taryn and I out and about the city to people watch for inspiration and take pictures along our way to help us remember the new motivations we have found.

4:30pm: We arrive back at the office and Julie begins sketching again. I often help her to visualize a dress by draping fabrics over a mannequin and maneuvering them in every which way for her to get a sense of what can be done with the particular material we are using.

Head designer, Julie DuRocher sketches with her gorgeous pup Coco

Head designer, Julie DuRocher sketches with her gorgeous pup Coco

5:00pm: The day for this tired intern is done! I often end up staying a bit later because I simply never want to leave the inspiring people I work with. However, when they finally do kick me out (kidding) I go home and write about all the adventures the day has brought me.

 

An internship is an opportunity to better discover yourself and your passions while being coached along by a team who believes in your potential. JOVANI has taught me a great deal about the industry and about myself, but today, all you get to read is a glimpse into what it’s like to clack down the halls of JOVANI and work alongside some of the most talented people in the industry.

 

So unit next time—here is to the girls (and boys) who are ever so curious to know what it’s like to work at a place with unlimited sequins and opportunity.

 

Stay BeYOUtiful!

Sydney, the intern ❤

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment