Quest for the Crown

I began as an intern for Jovani in the public relations department my senior year in college. As a Communication and Media Studies major who had a passion for fashion, I was excited to get to work with one of the leading evening wear designers in the country. I was thankful to have such an attentive team who showed me the ropes and supported my pageantry pursuits. Last month, I competed at the International Junior Miss pageant in Virginia Beach as Miss New York.

Jovani-pageant-dress

I spent months preparing for that unforgettable week, from volunteering with various organizations to putting together a top notch wardrobe. I was so excited to wear a Jovani evening dress during competition because it was a representation of my many accomplishments off of the stage. The head designer, Julie DuRocher listened to my ideas and suggestions and designed the pageant dress of my dreams that made me feel like a true beauty queen.

New York-Katie Guevarra-Jovani-pageant-dress

This gorgeous floor length red dress features a sweetheart neckline and lace overlay. It was simply adorned with hand stitched crystal beaded embellishments and a stylish peplum skirt. Since I am on the petite side we designed the peplum to be a bit higher than it ordinarily would be to elongate the legs and added a thin satin belt to cinch in the waistline. I accessorized my elegant gown with chandelier earrings and a crystal bracelet with my hair parted to the side and teased at the crown.

Each contestant is required to have a one-on-one interview with each of the judges. During this portion I was able to express my love for a brand that cares about their customers and staff; a brand that provides opportunities for people from all different walks of life; and above all, a brand that truly cares about others’ happiness. The judges were impressed by the amount of dedication that I devoted to my internship and were eager to hear more.

During the final telecast I did not walk away with the crown but I was blessed to make it as a top fifteen semi-finalist and received the coveted “Best Styling” award. My many triumphs throughout that week and confidence that radiated on stage was partly attributed to the Jovani team, for that I am eternally thankful. Not many contestants can say they have a true connection with the wardrobe they have chosen to showcase on stage but I have a strong bond with that little tag on the back of my gown that reads “Jovani.”

 

XOXO,

Katie

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

